Powder Room Sourcing

Ahhhh, the powder room remodel is over. And it’s perty. And it’s time to reflect over what we did and how much we spent and where we got all the stuff.

Fotor0515141733Fotor052712444

The industrial-looking light is from Lowe’s. It’s a galvanized outdoor fixture and it was only $30. I fell in love with this idea after seeing the kids bathroom over at My Old Country House.

The toilet is from Lowe’s as well.  This was the most expensive thing we bought for the room – and it was an impulse buy while sourcing wood for the vanity. Had I taken the time to research, I would have read the bad reviews and swayed from it. But I’m glad I didn’t. It’s beautiful (is it weird to call a toilet beautiful?), it’s functional, it fits perfectly in the space and it’s easy to clean. The one downside is the plastic toilet lid, which I do plan on replacing someday. But right now, with the way my boys slam those toilet seats down (I swear, it’s like percussion practice in here with all the peeing and slamming), I’m happy to have one that doesn’t make me jump every time.

The vanity is homemade – we bought the lumber and table legs at Lowe’s. I made the vintage stain myself out of vinegar and coffee, based on the recipe from Home Heart Craft. Then I covered it with two layers of poly, to make it water resistant. Overall, it was less than $100. See the post about it here.

The sink was also less than $100 – a special order piece from Lowe’s (we had only soooo much room on the homemade vanity, and we needed a slightly smaller sink than what was available in the stores. The brand name is Dekor. The man of the house connected the p-trap underneath – his first plumbing job – he was terrified.  We bought new pipes that were pretty and sparkly to replace the old yellowing PVC. $20

The mirror was a $30 Craigslist find, which I spray painted white. You can see the post about that here.

The glass jar holding the soaps and the framed cork board above the toilet are from Home Goods. $10 each.

The shell on the back of the toilet (holding the scrabble pieces) is from Goodwill. $2.

The scrabble pieces are from our game closet. We lurve scrabble. Except, my husband kicks my butt at it all the time, which never ceases to piss me off.

The metal basket on the floor (holding extra hand towels) is from the gardening department at Target. It was $30, which I thought was too much. But I drooled over this thing for two seasons before I finally decided I’d better buy it.  It doesn’t look available anymore (sorry!) but it was from the Smith & Hawken line, and I pretty much lurve everything Smith & Hawken.

The faucet is from Home Depot. $80.

The towel holder and toilet paper holder are a matching chrome set from Home Depot.  They were $10 each. This is nerdy, but I’m excited about the slip on/slip off toilet roll holder.  I feel joy every time I have to change the TP and I DON’T have to pop the spring-loaded thingie out and then finagle it back in. I’m quite sure I’ve recovered 4 wasted days of my life because I don’t have to do that anymore.

The light switches (speaking of wasted life, I ADORE the automatic light switch with the built-in night light – you can explore my adoration further in this post) and switch covers are from Home Depot. I couldn’t find pretty white switch/outlet covers that I liked (with a big enough opening for the auto-light). So I bought these bare wood ones and spray painted them white (I also spray painted the tops of the brassy screws and the inside of the brass door handle).

Spray paint cures all, my friends.

The hand towels and soap bottle are from Target. $5 each.

The floor tiles were on sale at a local discount tile center. Even though this room was small, I wanted extra large rectangle tiles in here. Standard square tiles just don’t appeal to me in general.  And the larger tiles expand the space, making it look bigger.  We spent $1.99 a square foot and this room is almost 5×5 (like Faith – Buffy reference, anyone?), so that’s about 50 smackaroos.

Fotor0515141941

The paint was $30 – it’s Valspar’s Polar Star. Even though I initially thought it was grey, it turned out to be paaaaale blue. But it’s great, either way.

Let’s say $50 for the underlayment (big arse tiles + shifting Hill country clay soil = cracking up without that orange plastic-y layer underneath) and another $50 for the baseboards (being generous there).

So overall, we are looking at about $800 for the whole remodel.  The labor was free, but I had to take a lot of bubble baths to compensate for all that hard work. So add in a $5 bottle of bubbles and that brings us to $805.

Leave a comment